Help?

Bodom

So I'm starting to get a little deeper into modifying roms besides just editing players, playbooks...all the easy stuff. I really want to become familiar with hex editing and I'm hoping there's a few patient people around to answer my bonehead questions as I have zero experience with this stuff. I'm not very tech savvy...if that's even the word for it. But I want to learn!

Been having a little fun editing graphics, quarter length, making my own plays and reactions.... and a few other things. Anyways, I'll get to it.

My first question is (and again, I apologize if this is "simple stuff") how do you insert a fix?

I took this directly from the Player 2 Conditions thread. I get how to find the 30E55 and 31F90. Then there's a fix that JStout wrote below. What on earth do I do with that info??

x30E55

20 80 9F JSR CHECK_PLAYER

x31F90

CHECK_PLAYER:

A6 6E LDX $6E ; Load Current Player

E4 6D CPX $6D ; Load Player 2

F0 02 BEQ :+

; PLAYER 1

18 CLC

60 RTS

; PLAYER 2

38 : SEC

60 RTS

A6 6E LDX $6E ; Load Current Player

E4 6D CPX $6D ; Load Player 2

F0 02 BEQ :+

; PLAYER 1

18 CLC

60 RTS

; PLAYER 2

38 : SEC

60 RTS

I'm not sure what hex editor/program you are using but

@ 30E55 you would type the following bytes in

20 80 9F

"JSR CHECK PLAYER" is just a comment of what those bytes do. In this case a jump to service routine.

Then @31F90 you would also type in all the bytes in order. You don't need to type in the things like LDX $6E; Load current player

I'm using XVI32. ...and I might be a little "further behind" in this learning process than you think. I don't understand hex at all, but I have come to find out that I learn much quicker while doing things ass backwards...THEN I start to realize the concepts behind it.

That being said - I go to 30E55 and I'm looking at a huge grid with a highlighted A6. Where exactly do I type in 20 80 9F?

my advice -