Jump to content

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 08/25/2017 in all areas

  1. 7 points
    View File Tecmonster's Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 The game is now available and so is the 5th annual "Preview Magazine" to the game. Madden ratings were used once again to rate every player. Here's a list of hacks and hack authors used to help create this: -- 32-team expansion rom (cx_rom, Maynard, Knobbe, others) -- helmets, field colors (keithisgood) -- COM looks for open receivers (jstout) -- COM Ultra Logic to play better defense (jstout) -- moving & dynamic grapples (bruddog) -- MAN vs. MAN popcorning (jstout) -- sort receiving leaders by yards (jstout) -- more accurate attribute labels, like “Acceleration” (Tecmonster) -- kicking arrow speed & range to make FG’s easier (Tecmonster) -- COM minimum kickoff distance (bruddog) -- increase kickoff ball speed (maynard, bodom) -- increase shotgun snap speed (jstout) -- tougher to block FG’s by adding personal protectors (Tecmonster) -- increase QB fumble rate (jstout) -- decrease diving animation time slightly (xplozv) -- decrease handoff animation time (xplozv) -- COM “juice” edited (by Tecmonster) -- PA affects “catchability/interceptability” of the pass (jstout) -- set kick returner farther back (bodom) -- Ball Control ratios edited so BC means more (by Tecmonster) -- static schedules from week to week (bruddog) -- Quickness changed to Coverage (jstout) -- kick returners use their actual attributes (konforce, jstout) -- stats screen at halftime (xplozv) -- corrected playoff bracket (pambazos) -- MAN-controlled QB rollouts on the rollout plays (Tecmonster) -- LB’s moved farther back from line of scrimmage (Tecmonster) -- Run & Shoot QB’s almost never scramble (Tecmonster) -- “heavy pass” teams don’t pass quite as much (Tecmonster) -- PLAYBOOKS (I have drastically changed and re-organized the playbooks to make them more useful, logical, balanced, and modern), including: (a) new plays, like the Shotgun Shovel, Shotgun Zone Read RB R, Shotgun Zone Read QB L (with QB HP boost), Shotgun RB Draw, Shotgun Zone Read Red Sea (pass), Shotgun Zone Read X Fly (pass), Shotgun Zone Read RB Flat (pass), Pro Set Quick Pitch L, Pro Set Quick Pitch R, Pro Set Zone Pitch R, 1back Offtackle R, 1back Pitch R, 1back Pitch L, Run and Shoot Fire (pass), Shotgun XZ Cross, 1back Flare C, Pro Z Deep Post; (b) improved blocking schemes for many run plays; (c) some receiving routes for existing plays improved; (d) some receiving routes added, like for Oneback Flare A; -- COM avoids sacks much better + faster COM rollouts (Tecmonster) -- shorter onside kicks (xplozv) -- COM RB reacts to the defense sooner after handoff (Tecmonster) -- smarter OL pass blocking (xplozv) -- receiver jump/dive based on REC rating (xplozv) -- defender jump/dive based on COV rating (xplozv) -- team rosters, jersey #’s, faces (Tecmonster) -- minimum COM punts @ 50% meter (bruddog) -- QB’s Avoid Pass Block rating is more important (low APB QB’s are bad news, notable increase in passes blocked) -- moving grapples turbocharged (i.e. bruddog’s version sped up) NEW FOR 2018: -- automated and accurate sim ratings (Tecmonster) -- minor player ratings formula and playbook tweaks If you decide to make ANY edits to this game within TSBToolSupreme, then you'll very likely need to repair the rom afterwards because that program will break part of the moving grapple code and the game will glitch. So, here's what you do: I used the Translhextion hex editor to create a file, named x3ffc0, and have included that with the rom here. I recommend saving this file to your Desktop. How you apply this file: open up your rom in Translhextion and jump to offset x3ffc0 (by clicking Offset > Jump To > then enter x3ffc0 in the field). Highlight (by dragging on) that byte + the next 48 bytes (49 bytes total), then: 1) go to Selection and click "Fill Selection with..." 2) in the pop-up box, select "File" from the dropdown box after "Fill selection with" 3) click "Browse" and find your file (preferably on your Desktop) and select it 4) click "OK" 5) Go to "File" and save your rom. This should fix the problem. Every time you edit your rom with TSBToolSupreme though, you're going to have to follow these steps directly afterwards. Files available: (1) Tecmonster's Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 game file (2) Tecomonster’s TSB 2018 Preview Magazine (3) x3ffc0 repair file. If you use this rom as a basis for a fantasy league like I do and you want the draft package, which lists players by salary, you can download it from the front page of our league’s website: renotecmoleague.weebly.com. Submitter Tecmonster Submitted 09/04/2017 Category NFL By Year  
  2. 7 points
    Many of you weren't around back in our hype glory (hole) daze. Let's call it S26-S31. Randi was commissioner and he was a shit dictator. If we reference him (now) too many times, like Candyman, he'll post something lame and down rep us, and I'll make fun of him for sucking so much. He was terrible, so one day a hero named Manyo rose up from the whiskey soaked bushes and confiscated the league. Ending the Fairfield hierarchy and sending all the fairy queens back to a far away unknown land, like Idaho. @madmanyo360 was a fair and adored leader, along with his merry helpers and tribune of concubines we ruled the Tecmo World, literally. Manyo allowed the Fairfieldans to stay, but they were watched closely. We often suspected @joeygats of sending undocumented carrier pigeons to Fairfieldia. Eventually, we broke him and he joined the regime. We had a fearless leader, like El Guapo, to allocate the people. A traitorous Luitenant in myself for overseeing operations, @SirTed a coveted hype man, a draft czar named @moulds33 RIP, @modeezie would build our land and ROMs, while @Coconuts would run our numbers. @kamphuna8 would schedule meetings and games and @segathonsov was the only owner in the land capable of interpreting El Commandante's wishes - he would interpret the rule book. @Ryan11p would run our Farm League because the wait list grew to over a dozen hungry (but useless) peasant souls. We even had a phucking Turbo Task Force comprised of Coconuts and Gats. Gats was in charge of "you have to think like a cheat, to catch one." The days were long and grueling, but rewarding. But all good things must come to an end. Somewhere mid S27, I think... Lt. Diaz made the mistake in supporting the Fairfielden's musical aspirations. I wanted to hype the league more, but El Commandante took this as a personal insult after over-throwing the old dicktator he banished (forever?) into the wilderness. Never to be heard from again... until he decided to come back and win an HSTL title running the offset formation in every game. The Lo-White Offense shall live in infamy. I'll link some good reads in the threads if you guys interact with this drivel, btw. We had no leader. I was forced to step up. In S28 we decided to take on the greatest Tecmo task ever, and did an individual draft. That's right folks, we drafted every single player on the rom individually. All 840 of them, even Don Warren. I won S28, as commish. It helps drafting HP and aligning shit to your favour. It's one of the perks to compensate for the shitty pay. Chino Pino was promoted from the low ranks into LT and did a fine job until hookers and blow reaped his Tecmo soul, forever. I have sent a many carrier pigeons his way to little to no avail. RIP The peak of HSTL was when the scheming sucka Randi himself didn't finish one of his games on time, and received his 2nd demerit dropping him from 2nd tier to 3rd, and having no chance at Marino. He threatened to quit, he cried, he threatened to quit, he cried more. I told him to fuck off, he cried, fuck off, cried, threatened to quit, cried, fuck off and then he actually quit. I take deep solace is reaping his tiny little soul. If you're keeping track I was responsible for running off both of my commish predecessors. They can't handle the heat. It happens, being commish will break you. It's like working 3rd shift, not every man is made for it. We were still flying high with the epic return of @bruddog and whether actively playing or not has always provided with much appreciated and needed analysis and insight. He's the fucking man. Fuck with Bru, I'll kill you IRL. Yes, that's a threat. Feel free to use this thread for evidence. To be continued....
  3. 6 points
    This a matchup spreadsheet that attempts to provide a rating and matchup analysis for any two teams chose EXCEL SHEET: team_tiers_OG_3.xlsx Google Sheets: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1w0sntWyYUWOZ0xVncnGATONP57lnqFUZuIhDgYoh2Z8/edit#gid=626874606 OFFENSE QB RUN = Rating given based on QB's max speed. Fast QB's are tough to stop without a LB to help spy. They can often grind out first downs as you are forced to choose between going after the QB or leaving a man open. RUN = Rating given based on RB's max speed. Special exception given to Okoye's 94HP which makes him as dangerous as 63MS player vs weak HP secondaries. PASS = Rating given to teams passing game QB + WRS *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** DEFENSE F5Pop = Bonus pts given if the DL HP vs Ol HP differential is enough for the DL to break through the OL instantly making running and passing tougher. Double points if it comes from the interior. LB = Grade given to entire unit based on all ratings but HP DB = Grade given to entire unit based on all ratings but HP *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** SPECIAL JJ Mismatch = If one team has a player whose int rating is at least 3 skill notches (example 69 int vs 50 pc) they will have a 50% chance of jumping to intercept the pass if they are in the right place. If its 4 notches or greater they will have a 100% chance of jumping to intercept the pass if they are in the right place. 1 bonus pt given for a 3 notch difference. 2 Bonus pts given for a 4 or more notch difference. 94 HP Blocker = Putting a 94 HP blocker at TE vs a 44HP or less bottom LB (50 HP differential) can help greatly as on one of the best runs in the game(Run 3 R&S sweep down) the LB will get popped giving you an extra blocker in the way allowing you to get some extra yards. 1 pt given for this mismatch. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** OTHER LB4 = Having a good player at this position helps defeat a number of runs fairly easily by diving right after the snap at the RB or by grappling the blocker immediately and then outtapping the RB. 1 pt given for a good player here. RCB/FS = These are good positions to have for stopping run plays and not being in the way of power running plays to the bottom. 1 pt given for a good player here. The can also provide coverage vs the best WR's as the best WR is often put at the top of the screen. DL use = This has a number of conditional checks but if a team has no LBs and/or they are playing a bad QB selecting a DL can be useful to help maximize your coverage. Especially if you know a pass is coming (aka shotgun). Especially useful vs the redgun and weak QB's if you have no LB's to use. DB vs run = in somewhat opposite fashion a penalty is given if your best DB is at bottom CB or SS or if your only good player is at CB as a good run game can really neutralize the effectiveness of using that player by running all of their runs to the bottom. Penalty ranges from -1 to -2 depending on the strength of the run game of the team faced. Special exception in CIN vs DET matchup with Fulcher being able to popcorn everyone on DET. KR = 1 pt given to the return game of PIT and 2 to NO since they can put a 94HP returner there. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** OFF= Off total score DEF= DEF total score OTH = other total score SP= special total score. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** SPECIAL INFORMATION Coverage catch tables of best qb and best wr vs (19int lb,best db and worst Db have been provided so you can see how much of a mismatch you are at there). These percentages only apply when the WR doesn't jump or dive and there is only one defender covering. *****A defender may appear to be in coverage but if the game doesn't determine him to be in on the play when the pass is 1/4 of the way he will have no effect on the outcome of the pass***** OL vs front 5 HP matchup ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
  4. 6 points
    davefmurray

    NFL 2017-2018 Season Discussion

    I legit just LOL'd
  5. 6 points
    The AFC Central ruled HSTL. With owners such as myself, Fairfeeeeld, @Jfagundes04, @regulator088 @War Machine @toolie @stalltalk we were unbeatable often sending 3 of 4 division teams on to the playoffs to play each other for a third time. It was brutal. But all good things must come to an end.... somewhere between JJs and more JJs I could no longer associate myself as leader of the league. I stepped down from commish and handed over to Hoff around S31 I think. He's a machine, to run a decade of HSTL leagues is no small feet. It takes a village. A village of crazy people to help do something fun and ridiculous, that we can sometimes do at work!!! @drake and I are now here as hypemofos. Not sure what is planned but it would be nice to drive some traffic back to the forums. Discord is awesome, but we shouldn't marry her. We'll play with her a lot, but we'll always come home at night. I will bring back my draft reviews and you will be made fun of. Draft busts, too. I'm thinking of starting some HSTL trivia. For instance, of championship owners, name owners that have more boots from HSTL than championships??? Good day gents, WE. ARE. GOING TO. MAKE. HSTL. GREAT AGAIN!!! =)
  6. 5 points
    davefmurray

    Random Thoughts

    Being someone that got REALLY sick, out of nowhere and who has reduced the issue significantly through one thing... diet is the greatest contributing factor to our declining health. More than anything else. I have become part of the functional medicine "movement" in that controlling my body through proper supplementation is essential. My "medications" only made me worse in that I was taking medicine to be better but then taking other medicine to cover up the side effects of the main medicine. I had to find a better way. There is no known cure for sarcoidosis but I have stabilized, improved 700% faster than "scheduled" and have reduced my symptoms to almost none all through proper nutrition and supplementation. The first thing I did was this crazy expensive and in-depth stool test. I learned that my body does not absorb or digest Vitamin D & protein properly. I take 50,000 units of Vitamin D now which is significantly higher than I "should" need. Normal people get about 10,000/wk. Because of my protein issues, I literally should never eat red meat because of its slow digestion, but also am heavy non-meat proteins. I will preach diet for the rest of my life. Once I get off my last medicine cycle and can start to drop weight you may see me on a Youtube channel or something barking about this. Don't want cancer? Learn your body and fuel it properly. Don't be an asshole. Eliminate stress and therefore inflammation. The number of tumors I have seen shrink or be eradicated in my doctor's clinic is astounding. FYI Functional Medicine doctors are MDs and not quacks nor are they holistic. They literally just look at the whole picture and just don't throw meds at you. https://www.ifm.org/ Also, to your point, I am certain chemicals aren't helping. Also get preservative-free and it will help mitigate the risk. Big pharma gives little to no effs about our actual health and will stretch a penny as far as possible. You'll pay more for preservative-free anything but well, well worth it.
  7. 5 points
    - Success will be all predicated on the strength of my schedule. I will run the run and shoot, and occasionally switch to a new offense to keep my opponents guessing. -I plan on losing 6-7 games this season. - Playoffs is always the goal and yes I do plan on making the playoffs. - Yes I have much faith in my team in any quarter, I excel using quarterbacks with decent pass speed (O'brien 56 ps) and 50 PC is pretty good to handle. Clayton, Duper and Roy Green will catch a lot of passes this season. - I saw Ray Childress but I elected to pass on him for this reason...I prefer balance over studs, that's just how I like to play and it makes me more content knowing I have more options as supposed to the one star. People may disagree but it's all opinion based. - Yes I am going to honor my commitment and bring much hype to this thread! I want everyone to know that it's not all about what people think or how they foresee your team. But skill matters most to me, half the time tecmo takes over games anyway, not to mention conditions and play calling. Good luck to everyone. I will post all my videos, stream when I can and post recaps as much as possible. The Atlanta Falcons will be the team to watch this season , I may do voice also! #OPTIMISM#
  8. 5 points
    View File Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 Presented by TecmoBowl.org Tecmo Super Bowl is the greatest sports video game of all time. Now, 26 years after TSB made 8-Bit legends of Bo Jackson and Lawrence Taylor, TecmoBowl.org proudly announces the release of Tecmo Super Bowl 2018. This site's 11th yearly iteration updates Tecmo's NES classic with up-to-date rosters, graphics, schedules and play books for all 32 NFL squads. Additionally, you can now check the defensive conditions of your players. Playable on multiple platforms and operating systems via NES emulation software, Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 brings Nintendo's bone-crunching classic to today's computers and handheld devices. Will offenses fear JJ Watt like they feared Bruce Smith? Who is the more deadly play-caller: Aaron Rodgers or Dan Marino? Will Ezekiel Elliott live up to the hype? Loaded into an NES Emulator, Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 will make legends for the next 26 years. Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 Table of Contents A. How This Works B. How To Play - PC/Mac C. How to Play Online - Windows D. Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 Notes E. Known Issues F. Credits A. How This Works If you're new to emulation: ROM = Game or Cartridge (.nes file) Emulator = NES System B. How To Play - PC/Mac Download Nestopia for your platform and also the .nes ROM - Windows | Mac Open Nestopia. From Nestopia, File > Open and find your .nes ROM. C. How to Play Online - Windows Setup for online play using our guide - http://tecmobowl.org/topic/53066-guide-get-started-playing-tsb-online-for-dummies/. We then recommend starting out at the TPC - http://www.tecmoplayers.com. Most TPC players use the original Tecmo Super Bowl ROM, but you might be able to find some people playing TSB 2016. Remember that the versions of the game must be exactly the same or you will not be able to connect. If you’re looking for an online league, we recommend TecmoBowl.org's Online Tecmo Leagues. D. Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 notes Check Defense condition - In the same location as the time out menu there is now a "CHECK DEF" option which lets you scroll left and right through your players 4-3 defenses removed - Everyone is back to the classic 3-4 32-Team ROM Rosters current as of 9/5/17 Adjustable quarter length Playbook editing in-game Player 2 attributes now display correctly Halftime stats Pass Control determines if a pass will be completed. Passing Accuracy determines if the ball will be on target. E. Known Issues You can't edit the player names for the NFC West teams using publicly released emulators. This rom may not work on some emulators. Sorry. F. Credits Graphics - Keithisgood | @keithisgood Rosters/Attributes/Sim - @Knobbe (Assist davefmurray) Rom - @bruddog Promo - davefmurray | @davefmurray QA/Rom Merge/Project Coordinator - @Knobbe | @tecmogodfather Thanks to: Jstout, Bruddog, Cxrom, Bad-Al & Buck for the hacking knowledge and tools. Members of TecmoBowl.org for helping beta test and for making this all worthwhile. Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 by TecmoBowl.org is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Based on a work at http://tecmobowl.org/. Other 2018 Versions to try: @Tecmonster: Tecmonster's Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 @gojiphen malor Goji's Tecmo Super Bowl NFL 2018 @SBlueman SBlueman's Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 - Preseason Edition Submitter Knobbe Submitted 09/07/2017 Category TecmoBowl.org Official Yearly ROMs
  9. 5 points
    Lol. Some history on the Yak Molester. It was an invention from 2000 when I moved to Seattle for a few years. It was my handle for a Counter-Strike server run by some dudes in LA that I never met, but that I was eventually given admin status for, not unlike TB-org. It was actually a community of randoms very much like TB-org, but one where there was at least a few women in as well, and not like this sausage fest. By 2003, I was over Counter-Strike, and my girlfriend wanted to move back to the East Coast, (we would split up six months later), which is when I stopped video games for a while after I went back to school for my banging degree--I mean--"theater performance degree." I lurked on TB-org for a few years before I finally created an account and began participating in f*cking with TSB rom styles in-between acting and directing in the Boston area. This place was literally my one hobby outside of being consumed by banging--I mean--"creating art." I hadn't created a forum handle in a long while at that point in 2007ish, so I went back to Yak Molester. I think within a year or so, I realized that it was a little weird for a 27 year old to have a handle like that, so I asked Knobbe to change it, also because the shit we were doing here was starting to get press, and nobody is crediting "Yak Molester" on their website news article. The .GIF avatar of a stick figure banging a Yak I made in 2001. There was a censored one, and a non censored one, and it was indeed glorious. I have an old internal hard-drive laying around somewhere that may or may not work anymore, and that might still have said avatar .GIF on it. I haven't tried to boot it up in 10 years or so fearing that it won't work, and basically every digital creation I made from 1996-2002 is gone forever. Ah, sweet history.
  10. 4 points
    Here's the first edition of HSTL Hard Knocks, featuring Prime. What is it? Well, it's all about execution! Prime insists that he can make the plays with mediocre players. The question is... Can he? And if so, how far can he take it? Wildcard... Division Title.... Conference Championship.... Hell, maybe he can win the whole thing!?!?! This thread will be used for Prime and friends to document HSTL history in the making. @Prime It's your show! Now show us what you got. We want to hear about training camp, preseason, alignments, VIDEOS, post game strategy recaps, what's working, what isn't, and what you expect from your coach and team. It's time to put your execution where your mouth is. Welcome to HSTL Hard Knocks: Prime Incorporated This should be interesting. Don't let us down Prime! #hypemofos
  11. 4 points
    GameHigh

    S41: Week 1 : SEA @ SD

    AFC West divisional tilt to kick off the season. And based on projections, I've only got 5 more recaps to write. The Chargers, reeling from multiple seasons of suspect QB play (in which this owner assumes zero responsibility), drafted Joe Cool in hopes of resurrecting the offense. However, due to the draft format, the flip side is an average at best defense. Facing the Seahawks with a Krieg-to-Rice combo is the disaster scenario for the Chargers. True to form, the Seahawks get the opening kickoff and embark on a 3-minute drive down the field, balancing Herschel Walker runs with Krieg passes. Krieg lobs one to Chris Carter for a TD. But there's only room for one Carter in this game, and his name is Anthony. The Chargers respond with a pass-heavy drive with AC shredding burn routes to tie it up. Next possession, Krieg is picked off and the Chargers salvage a FG before halftime to trail 14-10. In the second half, Montana cooked up a glorious Waffle House offense - scattered, smothered, and covered in CC's. And it was 3am drunk, "hey, how did I get here?" delicious. Has anyone seen my wallet? Oh, here it is, along with 200 yards and 2 TDs from AC. You're the best, man. Meanwhile, for the Chargers defense, an excellent Brett Maxie padded down Rice as multiple bombs from Krieg fell incomplete. Final score: Chargers 24, Seahawks 14 GG @Barletti and GLTRW! Box Score: http://hstl.tecmobowl.org/box-score.html?gID=15014
  12. 4 points
  13. 4 points
  14. 4 points
    Maynard_G_Krebs

    Random Thoughts

    Unrelated-but-related: the days following her posting those tweets, and after the backlash she received, I watched a couple of the shows she airs on. She seemed unlike her usual self. She didn't physically look great (loss of sleep / stress?), and she was clearly more than a little out of it. I think she forgot for a second when she tweeted how she represents an international organization, that the show she's been given with Michael what's-his-face was an incredible, life-changing opportunity and platform for her, and that she thought her tweets would go largely unpublicized because of her relatively nominal public stature. She was wrong, bigly. I imagine the multiple death threats that have been sent her way since this all blew up will give her pause for consideration next time when using an unfiltered public platform to disseminate her personal opinions.
  15. 4 points
    Some stuff looked wrong again. Google sheet updated 1. Downgrade QB run values by 1 2. Increased value of JJ pick mismatch by 1 3. Doubled DL popcorn value if on interior (RE,NT,LE) 4. Added special condtional for best/only DB at bottom CB/DB4 (this applied to DET, MIN, CIN,WAS,NE...SD has seale and SF has LOTT...torn on WAS as Green only has 44int. 5. Added extra special conditional for CIN vs DET to remove the penalty since fulcher can pop everyone. team_tiers_OG_3.xlsx
  16. 4 points
    This is what I have right now. It has team vs team and in their listing it has their Bruddog Power Ranking. I am working on adding one more thing... For now, check out this gif doe. @bruddog @segathonsov
  17. 4 points
    Something like this?
  18. 4 points
    View File Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 Presented by TecmoBowl.org Tecmo Super Bowl is the greatest sports video game of all time. Now, 26 years after TSB made 8-Bit legends of Bo Jackson and Lawrence Taylor, TecmoBowl.org proudly announces the release of Tecmo Super Bowl 2018. This site's 11th yearly iteration updates Tecmo's NES classic with up-to-date rosters, graphics, schedules and play books for all 32 NFL squads. Additionally, you can now check the defensive conditions of your players. Playable on multiple platforms and operating systems via NES emulation software, Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 brings Nintendo's bone-crunching classic to today's computers and handheld devices. Will offenses fear JJ Watt like they feared Bruce Smith? Who is the more deadly play-caller: Aaron Rodgers or Dan Marino? Will Ezekiel Elliott live up to the hype? Loaded into an NES Emulator, Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 will make legends for the next 26 years. Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 Table of Contents A. How This Works B. How To Play - PC/Mac C. How to Play Online - Windows D. Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 Notes E. Known Issues F. Credits A. How This Works If you're new to emulation: ROM = Game or Cartridge (.nes file) Emulator = NES System B. How To Play - PC/Mac Download Nestopia for your platform and also the .nes ROM - Windows | Mac Open Nestopia. From Nestopia, File > Open and find your .nes ROM. C. How to Play Online - Windows Setup for online play using our guide - http://tecmobowl.org/topic/53066-guide-get-started-playing-tsb-online-for-dummies/. We then recommend starting out at the TPC - http://www.tecmoplayers.com. Most TPC players use the original Tecmo Super Bowl ROM, but you might be able to find some people playing TSB 2016. Remember that the versions of the game must be exactly the same or you will not be able to connect. If you’re looking for an online league, we recommend TecmoBowl.org's Online Tecmo Leagues. D. Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 notes Check Defense condition - In the same location as the time out menu there is now a "CHECK DEF" option which lets you scroll left and right through your players 4-3 defenses removed - Everyone is back to the classic 3-4 32-Team ROM Rosters current as of 9/5/17 Adjustable quarter length Playbook editing in-game Player 2 attributes now display correctly Halftime stats Pass Control determines if a pass will be completed. Passing Accuracy determines if the ball will be on target. E. Known Issues You can't edit the player names for the NFC West teams using publicly released emulators. This rom may not work on some emulators. Sorry. F. Credits Graphics - Keithisgood | @keithisgood Rosters/Attributes/Sim - @Knobbe (Assist davefmurray) Rom - @bruddog Promo - davefmurray | @davefmurray QA/Rom Merge/Project Coordinator - @Knobbe | @tecmogodfather Thanks to: Jstout, Bruddog, Cxrom, Bad-Al & Buck for the hacking knowledge and tools. Members of TecmoBowl.org for helping beta test and for making this all worthwhile. Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 by TecmoBowl.org is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Based on a work at http://tecmobowl.org/. Other 2018 Versions to try: @Tecmonster: Tecmonster's Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 @gojiphen malor Goji's Tecmo Super Bowl NFL 2018 @SBlueman SBlueman's Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 - Preseason Edition Submitter Knobbe Submitted 09/07/2017 Category TecmoBowl.org Official Yearly ROMs  
  19. 4 points

    Version 1.0.1

    503 downloads

    The game is now available and so is the 5th annual "Preview Magazine" to the game. Madden ratings were used once again to rate every player. Here's a list of hacks and hack authors used to help create this: -- 32-team expansion rom (cx_rom, Maynard, Knobbe, others) -- helmets, field colors (keithisgood) -- COM looks for open receivers (jstout) -- COM Ultra Logic to play better defense (jstout) -- moving & dynamic grapples (bruddog) -- MAN vs. MAN popcorning (jstout) -- sort receiving leaders by yards (jstout) -- more accurate attribute labels, like “Acceleration” (Tecmonster) -- kicking arrow speed & range to make FG’s easier (Tecmonster) -- COM minimum kickoff distance (bruddog) -- increase kickoff ball speed (maynard, bodom) -- increase shotgun snap speed (jstout) -- tougher to block FG’s by adding personal protectors (Tecmonster) -- increase QB fumble rate (jstout) -- decrease diving animation time slightly (xplozv) -- decrease handoff animation time (xplozv) -- COM “juice” edited (by Tecmonster) -- PA affects “catchability/interceptability” of the pass (jstout) -- set kick returner farther back (bodom) -- Ball Control ratios edited so BC means more (by Tecmonster) -- static schedules from week to week (bruddog) -- Quickness changed to Coverage (jstout) -- kick returners use their actual attributes (konforce, jstout) -- stats screen at halftime (xplozv) -- corrected playoff bracket (pambazos) -- MAN-controlled QB rollouts on the rollout plays (Tecmonster) -- LB’s moved farther back from line of scrimmage (Tecmonster) -- Run & Shoot QB’s almost never scramble (Tecmonster) -- “heavy pass” teams don’t pass quite as much (Tecmonster) -- PLAYBOOKS (I have drastically changed and re-organized the playbooks to make them more useful, logical, balanced, and modern), including: (a) new plays, like the Shotgun Shovel, Shotgun Zone Read RB R, Shotgun Zone Read QB L (with QB HP boost), Shotgun RB Draw, Shotgun Zone Read Red Sea (pass), Shotgun Zone Read X Fly (pass), Shotgun Zone Read RB Flat (pass), Pro Set Quick Pitch L, Pro Set Quick Pitch R, Pro Set Zone Pitch R, 1back Offtackle R, 1back Pitch R, 1back Pitch L, Run and Shoot Fire (pass), Shotgun XZ Cross, 1back Flare C, Pro Z Deep Post; (b) improved blocking schemes for many run plays; (c) some receiving routes for existing plays improved; (d) some receiving routes added, like for Oneback Flare A; -- COM avoids sacks much better + faster COM rollouts (Tecmonster) -- shorter onside kicks (xplozv) -- COM RB reacts to the defense sooner after handoff (Tecmonster) -- smarter OL pass blocking (xplozv) -- receiver jump/dive based on REC rating (xplozv) -- defender jump/dive based on COV rating (xplozv) -- team rosters, jersey #’s, faces (Tecmonster) -- minimum COM punts @ 50% meter (bruddog) -- QB’s Avoid Pass Block rating is more important (low APB QB’s are bad news, notable increase in passes blocked) -- moving grapples turbocharged (i.e. bruddog’s version sped up) NEW FOR 2018: -- automated and accurate sim ratings (Tecmonster) -- minor player ratings formula and playbook tweaks If you decide to make ANY edits to this game within TSBToolSupreme, then you'll very likely need to repair the rom afterwards because that program will break part of the moving grapple code and the game will glitch. So, here's what you do: I used the Translhextion hex editor to create a file, named x3ffc0, and have included that with the rom here. I recommend saving this file to your Desktop. How you apply this file: open up your rom in Translhextion and jump to offset x3ffc0 (by clicking Offset > Jump To > then enter x3ffc0 in the field). Highlight (by dragging on) that byte + the next 48 bytes (49 bytes total), then: 1) go to Selection and click "Fill Selection with..." 2) in the pop-up box, select "File" from the dropdown box after "Fill selection with" 3) click "Browse" and find your file (preferably on your Desktop) and select it 4) click "OK" 5) Go to "File" and save your rom. This should fix the problem. Every time you edit your rom with TSBToolSupreme though, you're going to have to follow these steps directly afterwards. Files available: (1) Tecmonster's Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 game file (2) Tecomonster’s TSB 2018 Preview Magazine (3) x3ffc0 repair file. If you use this rom as a basis for a fantasy league like I do and you want the draft package, which lists players by salary, you can download it from the front page of our league’s website: renotecmoleague.weebly.com.
  20. 4 points
    Considering bringing myself and Gats for this one
  21. 4 points
    PockyCandy

    Favoritist Avatars {herein the Borg}

    Our boy Dave looks like he's about to make a guest appearance on Bill Nye the Science Guy.
  22. 4 points
    buck

    Forum Software Upgrade

    so there is a heart/like, a positive/upvote, and a negative/downvote....what is the heart/like? what is member reputation linked to - still to upvote?
  23. 4 points
    davefmurray

    The Road To Tecmo Madison

    With that, we will also be announcing the opportunity to become part of The Road To Madison. Being a part of The Road To Madison, not only contributes to the new TSB tournament circuit and its point system, but it also affords your tournament the following marketing efforts to help your tournament fill its seats and grow. Regional Email blasts to neighboring states/regions. Regional Facebook posts via Official TSB Page Regional TBorg Private Messages directly to members We will announce the date to state your interest to include your tournament this week. The deadline to be considered for The Road To Madison will be October 1st. Initially, we will choose one tournament per month from May to February each year to include as part of this circuit. During certain times, there may be two tournaments separated regionally and we will reach to a second tournament if we'd like to include it. Bear in mind, these can and will change each year. For now, here are our first two majors! Tundra Bowl V - Green Bay - WI - 01/27/18 - @RetroNathan CT Tecmo XI - Southington, CT - 12/02/17 - @arncoem
  24. 4 points
    If the goal is to avoid extreme blowouts, then use a World Cup style seeding system where group winners play group runners up in a prearranged bracket. Then cap point diff at 28 or 21. The goal then changes from needing to go 3-0 in group play with a massive point diff to just getting to 3-0 with every point above a 21 point lead reduced to a 0. This still allows for creative matchups, still allows underdogs to choose a matchup that they think works for them, and reduces the need to lay a 70 spot on a kid to move up by 1 spot on the bracket.
  25. 3 points
    SBlueman

    (NES) SBlueman's Tecmo Super Bowl 2017

    Update time, here's what's new: What's New in Version 1.08 Adjusted the COM juice on the full edit (v1.08) Note: I also added a "vanilla" version of the edit with only the following SET commands added: More NFL like QB rating value Player 2 Conditions Fix Prevent schedule from being random Road team plays as player 2 vs COM Randomize sound loop used for each play QB backpedal animation hack Change Touchback To 25-Yard Line No IPS patches have been applied. Players can customize the game to their liking by adding SET commands from the hack list file to the rom with TSBTool.
  26. 3 points
    Fernando 49

    (SNES) TSB3 2017 SB LII

    View File TSB3 2017 SB LII TECMO SUPER BOWL III SEASON 2017 SUPER BOWL LII Well the football season is finally here and with that, also the fantasy football, but most important TSB yearly is back and here is the TSBIII version for you all. As I like to recognize, DRUNKEN HONKEY is the guru on TSB3 things and his guide helped me a lot, thanx a lot for all man. Remember, I'm not a grafic designer, in fact I suck as one, so I do the best I can with the graphical aspect to bring it more accurate. ROM There are two as you know: ROM A includes BROWNS & RAVENS (No TEXANS & TITANS) ROM B includes TEXANS & TITANS (No BROWNS & RAVENS) The rosters are accurate to september 6 so enjoy it. Uniforms are rearranged to look completeley real. Free Agency and Hidden Players are different. Attributes are obviously fixed to the 2016 performance, except for rookies. For the very first time, I changes the SIM values. I hope you enjoy it and remember, football is back. BTW. IF YOU WANT A BETTER CHALLENGE TRY THE JUICED VERSION AND PREPARE TO SUFFER AGAINST THE COM... Submitter Fernando 49 Submitted 09/08/2017 Category SNES  
  27. 3 points
    OL' Dirty Tecmo

    Did someone say sig wars?

    Every. Single. One of them...
  28. 3 points
    toolie

    Did someone say sig wars?

    Get eductaed people...
  29. 3 points
    Oh, it happened. This did too. #DadBodLife
  30. 3 points
    davefmurray

    The Road To Tecmo Madison

    We are working on some new, awesome extensions for Tecmo and Tecmo Madison. We are going to start a tournament series, including qualifiers and a last chance event, that leads up and builds to Tecmo Madison -- The Road To Tecmo Madison. Overall, there will be 5 tournaments - 3 qualifiers that will be coined "Majors", 1 Last Chance event and the main event, Tecmo Madison. Each of the majors will contribute to a new point and seeding system for Tecmo tournaments. Players who finish in the top 4 of each major will get a guaranteed Top 6 region seed at Madison. Major winners will get an even better seeding, with preferred placement into regions. The points system will be assigned to all tournaments that adhere to a few standard rules and formats. Those are: They must use the basic rules from Tecmo Madison (http://tecmomadison.com/rules), they must have more than 24 people, they must submit the scores to TecmoMadison.com using the proper format, and the final portion of the tournament must be a seeded bracket, single or double elimination, utilizing standard Madison matchup selection. The points system is as follows: 1st 25 2nd 18 3rd 15 4th 12 5th 10 6th 8 7th 6 8th 4 9th 2 10th 1 We will announce all the tournament majors in the coming weeks here on TecmoBowl.org. Players: We will keep track of your points and they will be posted on your TecmoMadison.com profile as we build them out. More on this later. Organizers: There will be further benefits to being part of the series and we will make a separate post laying out that information for you. Good luck and godspeed during this Tecmo Bowl season. View full article
  31. 3 points
    SBlueman

    (NES) SBlueman's Tecmo Super Bowl 2017

    Eventually I will post a 'vanilla' rom with minimal hacks installed so people can pick and choose what hacks to add themselves. I'll probably have that up this weekend so keep an eye out for that. Thanks to @davefmurrayfixing whatever I blew up, the download page is back and the game has been updated: What's New in Version 1.07 Updated Bowns, Eagles and Lions mini-helmet facemasks (Thanks to @jstout, @gojiphen malor and @bruddog for all their help with the updates in the 32-team base rom thread)
  32. 3 points
    OL' Dirty Tecmo

    Random Thoughts

    I figured this. Reading enough of your posts I figured you wouldn't make unfair comparisons. I really appreciate this type of data. For instance, women in the workforce, current female college enrollment growth, etc. I'm curious of the gap between education and employment levels for Asians. At quick glance you could assume extreme prejudice in hiring practice. I'm ignorant to this part, but could it be unwillingness to work certain jobs? Many blue collar (mostly white) Americans are stuck in that way of thinking. Maybe not, but an interesting conversation to have. Further, if the prejudice towards Asians is so high (assuming that fact), how are they able to educate themselves - bc clearly the system is set against them, right? I'd like to see these conversations and data occur in comparison with every minority group in America vs elsewhere, with white America's supposed racism in mind. Then I'd like the findings explained and the differences. This kind of info would be true progress imo. Not just bitching about inequities. Any decent business model has specific goals. "Equality for all" is not a goal, it's propoganda. I'm for it of course, I want more people succeeding today than yesterday. Who wouldn't be?!?! Like I said, if there's racism in America holding groups back I'm 100% for addressing and fixing it. But it goes much higher than our cop neighbors and family members. It goes much deeper than a few dozen basement dwelling Nazis at a rally. My dad came here from Cuba with jeans, a belt, and a t-shirt. What he didn't bring was a bag full of excuses. In my core I believe the establishment media and Republicans/Democrats to be globalists with only one goal: Ensuring they remain in power. Everything else is nonsense to keep "us who disagree on a few things" to ignore this fact. Without the nonsensical rhetoric from them, the globalist elite, we want the same things for the future. I fear, what they want, is depopulation. Once upon a time us minions were needed to produce GDP. As automation increases and the need for people diminishes, we become useless hungry mouths. Do you believe the Illuminati may exist? If so, what do you think they discuss? If you were them, how would you cure world hunger? I'd do it through natural attrition. If I were an evil elite globalist. Off topic a bit but the chart below speaks to what the Google memo guy was talking about right before he got fired for having a difficult conversation. I wonder if they'll fire the leakers?
  33. 3 points
  34. 3 points
    You guys might be way over complicating the mini helmets. Detroit already uses the grey color so just remove the special byte that places the black facemask and instead use the standard grey facemask. Cleveland has Black for the dark brown so if you recolor the tiles it should be good. No need for changing pointers and such. I got the following in just minutes. base-2017-update.nes
  35. 3 points
    buck

    Random Thoughts

    again, knobbe, did you check out the speech to see if trump had a good point, or...? anyways - I really do not understand all this race card shit. I do not know of anybody who supports trump because they think he is against non-whites. and I will personally go on record to say that IF I actually was concerned that trump IS "against non-white's", I would NOT support him. but I don't think that he is against them. and I am not, either. maybe it just so happens that a high percentage of *illegal* aliens are not "white"? but that is just coincidence. to assume it's not a coincidence means that you are actually the one pulling the race card. because law is law. order is order. just because trump, or the people who voted for him, is trying to enforce laws (immigration or regular criminal laws) that already exist, does not mean that they are going after non-whites. they are just interested in maintaining a decent society where lawlessness/anarchy does not exist. law and justice should be colorblind. just letting people break our society's laws because they are of a certain "color" or culture, would be racist actually, and retards the advancement our society. all you race card assholes are taking us back to the stoneage, thanks.
  36. 3 points
    davefmurray

    Random Thoughts

    This. No one gave a crap and protested and whined on national TV about it (Except my boy Skip Bayless! (minus the protest part)). I think this is paramount to Buck's overarching point. There is certainly a sensitive divide culturally when it comes to race and benefit. Holy crap, I do not care if you are an alien from Mars as long as you respect each other and do good work. This won't get you clicks and get you to tweet jokes or snarky replies to our president. It is all sensationalism. Calling our president a "white supremacist" is just ignorant. The definition of white supremacist has now changed as well. It is now an insult instead of a subculture. It is just a racist as all the other crap the white supremacists say. (Not defending WS at all. Pointing out inequality. Slow your roll before you lose it over that sentence.) There is perpetual racism on all sides of this country. Calling each other racists will get us nowhere. If you are white and speak your mind, you are now a white supremacist. (See: Ben Shapiro being called a white supremacist.) Our society is a joke. A joke made up from a lack of sensory awareness and having actual thin skin. They should make an addendum to the pledge and add in the Sticks And Stones idiom.
  37. 3 points
    Would putting it in a line graph by beneficial? It may look cool showing the peaks and valleys. For instance seeing the SEA Peak at QB and GB DB Valley may be a good matchup to exploit?
  38. 3 points
    MartinFN

    16 years ago... Can we talk?

    I was actually at my mother's memorial service when the planes hit. My brother and I were walking through a mall and all the tv's were showing the video of the towers... I honestly thought it was a movie or something. When someone explained what had happened all of the kids (my two sisters and my brother and I) were on the phone. Having lost my mother so recently, the world was going insane... I still think something snapped that day... the world changed... As a south african who lived through a small portion of the apartheid era, I remember as a child all the bomb drills and bomb scares we went through. Now the whole world is like that. Paranoia , anger and fear. I pray for those who lost loved ones in the attacks. My family and I suffered tremendously with the loss of one member, to imagine that pain multiplied thousands of times over, is almost unimaginable.
  39. 3 points
    PockyCandy

    NFL 2017-2018 Season Discussion

    Seattle can have da hardest hitting defense in da league and a quarterback that is actually a magician, but none of that's going to matter if their line "blocks" like this:
  40. 3 points
  41. 3 points

    Version Rev 0

    2,825 downloads

    Tecmo Super Bowl is the greatest sports video game of all time. Now, 26 years after TSB made 8-Bit legends of Bo Jackson and Lawrence Taylor, TecmoBowl.org proudly announces the release of Tecmo Super Bowl 2018. This site's 11th yearly iteration updates Tecmo's NES classic with up-to-date rosters, graphics, schedules and play books for all 32 NFL squads. Additionally, you can now check the defensive conditions of your players. Playable on multiple platforms and operating systems via NES emulation software, Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 brings Nintendo's bone-crunching classic to today's computers and handheld devices. Will offenses fear JJ Watt like they feared Bruce Smith? Who is the more deadly play-caller: Aaron Rodgers or Dan Marino? Will Ezekiel Elliott live up to the hype? Loaded into an NES Emulator, Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 will make legends for the next 26 years. Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 Table of Contents A. How This Works B. How To Play - PC/Mac C. How to Play Online - Windows D. Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 Notes E. Known Issues F. Credits A. How This Works If you're new to emulation: ROM = Game or Cartridge (.nes file) Emulator = NES System B. How To Play - PC/Mac Download Nestopia for your platform and also the .nes ROM - Windows | Mac Open Nestopia. From Nestopia, File > Open and find your .nes ROM. C. How to Play Online - Windows Setup for online play using our guide - http://tecmobowl.org/topic/53066-guide-get-started-playing-tsb-online-for-dummies/. We then recommend starting out at the TPC - http://www.tecmoplayers.com. Most TPC players use the original Tecmo Super Bowl ROM, but you might be able to find some people playing TSB 2016. Remember that the versions of the game must be exactly the same or you will not be able to connect. If you’re looking for an online league, we recommend TecmoBowl.org's Online Tecmo Leagues. D. Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 notes Check Defense condition - In the same location as the time out menu there is now a "CHECK DEF" option which lets you scroll left and right through your players 4-3 defenses removed - Everyone is back to the classic 3-4 32-Team ROM Rosters current as of 9/5/17 Adjustable quarter length Playbook editing in-game Player 2 attributes now display correctly Halftime stats Pass Control determines if a pass will be completed. Passing Accuracy determines if the ball will be on target. E. Known Issues You can't edit the player names for the NFC West teams using publicly released emulators. This rom may not work on some emulators. Sorry. F. Credits Graphics - Keithisgood | @keithisgood Rosters/Attributes/Sim - @Knobbe (Assist davefmurray) Rom - @bruddog Promo - davefmurray | @davefmurray QA/Rom Merge/Project Coordinator - @Knobbe | @tecmogodfather Thanks to: Jstout, Bruddog, Cxrom, Bad-Al & Buck for the hacking knowledge and tools. Members of TecmoBowl.org for helping beta test and for making this all worthwhile. Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 by TecmoBowl.org is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Based on a work at http://tecmobowl.org/. Other 2018 Versions to try: @Tecmonster: Tecmonster's Tecmo Super Bowl 2018 @gojiphen malor Goji's Tecmo Super Bowl NFL 2018 @SBlueman SBlueman's Tecmo Super Bowl 2017 - Preseason Edition
  42. 3 points
  43. 3 points
    10.9.1 is up! - Player rating and depth chart adjustments. ~ Maverick209 - More offenses changed to 3-WR. - Players Added : Bills - RB, joe BANYARD Dolphins - K, cody PARKEY, CB, xavien HOWARD Jets - TE, will TYE, S, marcus MAYE, LB, jordan JENKINS, TE, eric TOMLINSON Browns - DE, emmanuel OGBAH, DT, trevon COLEY, LB, joe SCHOBERT Ravens - DT, michael PIERCE, LB, matt JUDON Colts - RB, matt JONES Texans - LT, chris CLARK, CB, kevin JOHNSON, S, andre HAL, S, corey MOORE Jaguars - DT, abry JONES, WR, dede WESTBROOK, TE, j O.SHAUGHNESSY Titans - WR, eric WEEMS Broncos - S, will PARKS Chiefs - RB, c.j. SPILLER Chargers - LB, korey TOOMER, WR, tyrell WILLIAMS Redskins - NT, stacy MCGEE Giants - QB, geno SMITH, RB shane SMITH Bears - RB, tarik COHEN Packers - TE, l. KENDRICKS, G, jahri EVANS, DE, dean LOWRY, Buccaneers - S, t.j. WARD, S, chris CONTE, G, kevin PAMPHILE, LB, devante BOND Saints - TE, m. HOOMANAWANUI Falcons - DE, c. UPSHAW, LB, d. CAMPBELL, G, ben GARLAND Panthers - QB, brad KAAYA Rams - T, jamon BROWN, DE, e. WESTBROOKS Seahawks - T, isiah BATTLE Cardinals - P, andy LEE, CB, justin BETHEL, G, evan BOEHM
  44. 3 points
  45. 3 points
    Bodom

    NFL 2017-2018 Season Discussion

  46. 3 points
    Nameless Loser

    American Football Skills

    Best way is to read the draft literature. But, briefly: QB: best is accuracy and ability to read a defense, not go through motions (although the latter is a little hard to project to the NFL because college defenses are slower and simpler). Guys always get hopped up on arm strength, and it is important for certain throws in the NFL, but Chad Pennington (Jets) lasted a long time with a relative noodle. You want guys above six feet so they can see above the O-line - you can use a shorter quarterback like Doug Flutie, but you have to do things to open up vision lanes. RB: speed and whatever the guy did in college, seriously. RBs don't get much better with age, not for running the ball (pass protection is a different story). WR: You want speed and a guy that has ball skills, the ability to go up and take a pass from the defender. Height is desired but not important. Normally you fix the guy's route running in his first couple of years. TE: you want everything in a tight end, really. The reason you don't see more great TEs is because guys with those skills are often NBA players, plus guys with big talent usually wind up playing other positions like defensive end. A great TE can play for 12+ seasons on speed and guile. OL: fast feet on the outside and wingspan. On the interior you want to have a guy that can get under the tackle and move him out. The center often calls protections and is often the smartest guy on the field, that's why you see centers tend to be undersized. DE: all about speed in today's NFL. But, he still has to be able to take on the tackle and not get run over, otherwise you'd bring a corner (and some teams do that). DT: probably now all about speed too, but (this is fading knowledge) many teams still want a booger in there that can't be moved on a run play. LB: really all about speed at this point. Basically a LB is a TE that can't catch. You would like the guy to be a solid tackler, you would like him to have some size, but a lot of teams run these Cover 2 Buc zone coverages where the MLB drops deep, and so you can't have a 280 pound guy like you did back in the 80s. I think the biggest skill that you see in LBs vs. any other position is the ability to extremely quickly react to the play and get to the ballcarrier. Some guys have that talent and burst and some at that position (in college) just don't. Most teams play one-gap, so there's no way really to put a LB in a box. Plus, teams used to use fullbacks more often, so the LB's job was to take on the fullback, basically that was his mark on a run look, to stuff the FB in the hole and let the other guys get the RB. No way a 250 pound LB is going to take on the 300 pound guards you see in today's game, so they just try and penetrate too. DBs are interesting. A lot of times you see a corner move to safety when he gets old and can't run as well. You have two kinds of safeties: a player that used to be called the free safety and normally plays back, and a strong safety you bring down into the box. From what I read, David Fulcher was a tremendous box player, but a guy like John Lynch if you remember him was kind of the prototype strong safety: massively hard hitting, but you could run by him if you matched up well, you left him in the box on running downs and covered for him by playing zone defense. A safety in the box is basically a linebacker with a little more time to react to the run and pass, but they still match up against WRs, so beyond the speed, they need to be able to tackle a big RB or take on a TE. The safeties that play out of the box, frankly are not usually that good. Those players are normally chosen because they make good decisions about when to charge the LOS, jump a route, and when to bail out to the deep receiver, and aren't too slow. What a cornerback really needs is agility more than speed. Corners in the NFL play a lot of zone in addition to man coverage, and zone is all about getting to a spot quickly. You can play corner for a long time if you have good instincts and play in a mostly-zone scheme (Ronde Barber). Great, shutdown type cornerbacks are rare nowadays because they are all made into WRs if they can catch. Plus, you can't jam a receiver like you used to be able to, so size in a corner has been heavily devalued. The Seahawks in recent years have gone to that physical scheme and been extremely successful, but remember their top 3 DBs are all young and highly talented. Most teams can't hold that combination for long due to having to pay their quarterback. In regards to the type of corner, really it varies, it's all personality and individual skill, rarely is it scheme, from what I see. Some corners really like to gamble, some corners stay home. But, it's a hard skill to teach to have a corner "sense" when the receiver is going to make his break, and where. Plus the frequency where that matters is not that high, and where you actually see the impact on TV. A corner makes a great jump on a receiver, that can result in a sack, but more likely the QB will dump off if he's good. Only if the QB is hurried, not reading the receiver properly, or trying to jam the ball in e.g. to get the marker, will it result in a play you see on TV. Having guys like Josh Norman that are fast and can anticipate a route combination is not that common. If you see interceptions vs. stripping, IMO, more likely that is a scheme thing or maybe lack of speed, IMO. To make a pick, you have to be in the lane, and to strip, you have to come from behind, and those are dictated by the coverage scheme for the most part. You can't pass a receiver up without somebody behind you covering it. Remember, scheme is dictated by the personnel and the personnel is dictated by money, value, and rules. You can't win without a pricey QB, you can't defend because the QB and WRs have a skirt on, you can't pay a bunch of guys money because of the salary cap, and all the veterans with ball skills and still have speed are usually too expensive.
  47. 3 points
    Bodom

    Favoritist Avatars {herein the Borg}

    The poster formerly known as Yakmolester displayed my favorite avatar. Unfortunately, he has since matured and changed his name @Maynard_G_Krebs and avatar.
  48. 3 points
    I miss the sigs!
  49. 3 points
    Can my rival be a 12 pack of High Life? Pretty sure I lost that battle at Kamp's place last month
  50. 3 points
    regulator088

    Tournament Abundance

    There has been really good dialogue in this topic. My original intention/thought was that there needs to be better cohesiveness between tournament dates versus less tournaments all together. This seems to be the common sentiment which I am happy to see. Some other thoughts as a Tecmo vet and tournament participator.... I really like an idea Dave implemented in Tecmo Dallas in which myself, Gats, and Ones11fahzu were designated as resources for questions and advice on general Tecmo game play and rules. This should reduce some of the stress to those running tournaments as well as increase the communication between talented/experienced players and new ones. I imagine if tournament directors reach out to known Tecmo players prior to tournaments beginning and ask this favor, there would be positive response (I'm referring to smaller tournaments). I for one enjoy giving advice and would be happy to fill this role at any tournament I attend. Also, if you look at the amount of votes cast, only 23 people including myself have done so. Our community is huge! Like Dave and Jon said, there are so many of us. Our participation in active topics like this and communication is key to the success of Tecmo. I want to attend more live events, and if tournaments are spread out, this is possible.
×